Wednesday, 12 August 2009

2 FIFA World Cup Awards

FIFA World Cup awards
FIFA World Cup has several awards for teams and individual players awards and some media have started predicting what team or player will winner some of these awards in World Cup 2010 in South Africa. Apart from World cup champion and fisrt runner up awards, the tournament has six other awards usually given after the final game, these awards are
The Golden Shoe 1930 (Golden Boot, "adidas Golden Shoe"scorer 1982)World-cup-Golden-shoe-award
The Golden Ball ( "adidas Golden Ball") for best player. World-cup-Golden-ball-award
The Yashin Award for best goalkeeper (first awarded in 1994)
The FIFA Fair Play Trophy for the team with the best record of fair play (first awarded in 1970)
The Most Entertaining Team award for the team that has entertained the public the most, during the World Cup final tournament, as determined by a poll of the general public, first awarded in 1994
The Best Young Player (currently commercially termed as "Gillette Best Young Player") award for best player under 21 years of age at the start of the calendar year, first awarded in 2006.
An All-Star Team (currently commercially termed "Mastercard All-Star Team") comprising of the best players of the tournament and is also announced for each tournament since 1990.

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP