Friday, 19 August 2011

2 Seven players dominants premier league top ten scorers list in past ten years

The premier league top goal scorers in the past ten years only have seven strikers. Thierry Henry won the premier league golden boot four times in the past ten years, in 2001-2002 as Arsenal won premier league trophy and when he won the award for three consecutive years 2003-2004, 2004-2005 and 2005-2006. In the year 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 he also won the European Golden Shoe/boot award with 60 and 50 points respectively. Ruud van Nistelrooy scored many goals for Manchester United but only top the top score list once and gave Man Utd the title. Drogba won it twice 2006–2007 when Chelsea won premier league title and 2009–2010. Last season the top scorer award were shared among Manchester United Dimitar Berbatov and Manchester City Carlos Tévez both on 20 goals. Cristiano Ronaldo score 31 to fire the red devils to the premier league title and lead with most goals scored in on season in the past ten years but Ronaldo ranked third played to have scored many goals in one season since its inception 1992 after Andrew Cole (Newcastle United 1993–1994) and Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers 1994–945). But Cole and Shearer played in 42 games season. Cristiano Ronaldo shared 31 goals per season record with Alan Shearer though Ronaldo has high rate of goals scored per game 0.91. None of the top scorer played all premier league games in the past ten years but at least all have played more than 30 games. Andrew Cole is the only played to have played all league matches as he played 42 games in 1993–1994.

Premier league top scorers: Thierry Henry, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Didier Drogba,  Cristiano Ronaldo, Nicolas Anelka, Carlos Tévez,, Dimitar Berbatov
Premier league season for 2011-2012 kick off a week ago and saw Sergio Kun Aguero score double on his debut. Many soccer fans are tipping him for a premier league and European golden boot awards. Will Aguero clinch the post on his first premier league season? Aguero were among top ten scorers in European league top scorer list. Does he have enough to win the European golden shoe? If not who will win these awards?

2001-2002 Thierry Henry 24
2002–2003 Ruud van Nistelrooy 25
2003–2004 Thierry Henry 30
2004–2005 Thierry Henry 25
2005–2006 Thierry Henry 27
2006–2007 Didier Drogba 20
2007–2008 Cristiano Ronaldo 31
2008–2009 Nicolas Anelka 19
2009–2010 Didier Drogba 29
2010–2011 Carlos Tévez 20
2010–2011 Dimitar Berbatov 20


Philippines Current Events 4/1/12 08:44  

This post was extremely interesting. I like it. I had a great time reading your post as well. Thank you for sharing.


MatteJerry 4/1/12 09:52  

Thank you for your comment Apple.

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

  © Blogger templates The Professional Template by 2008

Back to TOP